808 & Heartbreaks

or doctor & heartbeats. I’m no Kanye!

I just came back from one of my OB appointments on cloud nine, as I always do. I have been incredibly blessed with a perfectly healthy baby. At each visit I have been able to hear the heartbeat or see my baby via ultrasound. Nothing can make me happier these days. Today I heard the heartbeat for the second time. It just doesn’t get old! I recorded it on my phone since Rick has yet to hear it. I wish I could post it on here. If you follow me on Instagram or are my friend on Facebook you can view it there.

I am also so blessed to have an incredible doctor.  Dr. Johnson is so caring and helpful. I’ve heard horror stories of doctors who don’t care and just want to rush you out of the room. This is not the case for me. She reviews everything with me, ask how I am feeling, and gives me plenty of time to ask questions or just talk. She also gives me options and passes no judgement! Here is a quick example. Today I was offered the flu shot. There was no rush or pressure. I decided that I wanted to do my research before I rush into anything. Guess what? She was perfectly fine with it! She didn’t use her “doctor powers and wisdom” to convince me or force me otherwise. She also didn’t make me feel stupid for being hesitate. Side note: I have never been the type to reject modern medicines. In fact I have always been vocal about vaccines and such, but it seems the mommy in me is already coming out. I want to know what I am doing before I do it and I want what I feel is best me for and my family.

My advice is to find a doctor/midwife that listens and cares. It’s your baby and your body. It doesn’t have to be a terrible experience. You don’t have to dread going to the doctor or be forced into things you don’t want to do. You want to feel comfortable in one of the most crucial times of your life. I think you should feel in control. You’re not diseased, you’re pregnant! It’s a beautiful thing. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

